BEDS Day 12 – A Favorite Book

Blog Every Day in September – A favorite book!

What is your favorite book?

I’d have to say that one of my favorite books would have to be Star Trek: Captain Table #1 – War Dragons.

War Dragons.jpg

Captain James T. Kirk must join forces with Captain Hikaru Sulu, new commander of the USS Excelsior, to resolve a simmering political situation in a distant star system. Two adventures, more than twenty years apart, tell of the ancient bond between the Nykkus and Anjiri. Their brief ventures into the presence of the Federation resulted in exciting and often deadly encounters. Now Kirk and Sulu sit to tell the tale of their one last chance to end the bloodshed – before it plunges the Federation into a full-scale interstellar war!

For me, this book is a favorite because this was the book that took from a 4th grade reading level to a post college reading level.

When I was in the 8th grade, we had an English teacher that gave us reading comprehension test. That was all well and good and I figured I would do fine. But whatever book I read, I forgot now, I scored at a level of a 4th grader, keep in mind that this was when I was in the 8th grade.

Now, a few weeks after that happened, our teacher, who was pregnant had to go out for maternity leave and we got a new teacher in there for the remainder of the school year.

Her name was Mrs. Leffingwell and I have tried to find her through social media as she is no longer in the school district where I studied under her. Sadly though, I have never been able to find her.

Anyways, she gave us a new comprehension test, better organized and such and my scores were that of a post-college level student. It was through reading the book above that I went from not wanting to read to someone who now has more books than I know what to do with.

So, Mrs. Leffingwell, wherever you are, thank you for your teachings and help. I shall never forget you.

What is one of your favorite books, whether a current favorite or one from when you were younger?

Let me know in the comments section below!

Leave a Reply

