challenges · nanoprep · writing

One of These Days

​I smiled when he walked through the breakroom door. I had totally forgot that he was coming into work at 1. Tapping my phone, I saw that it was just then 12:30.

Letting my head fall down, I groaned, “Oh god.”

“Playing with your tags?” he asked as he sat down at the corner of the table I was working at.

“Bored sitting back here.”

“Well how about I mess up your tags?” he said, grabbing a stack and spreading them around the table.

“No! Don’t! Marilyn will get pissed.”

“You scared of Marilyn,” he teased.

“Bullshit. She can shove it up her ass. Just don’t want to hear her shit.”

“I hear ya,” he said, smiling.

It made my heart warm to see that beautiful smile on his face.

“What?” he asked, the smile bigger than ever.

“Just love that smile, is all,” I said and he blushed.

“Jay!?” he said, looking around.

“What?”

“What if someone hears you?” he asked.

“Does it honestly matter?”

We’d had this conversation a couple times since we had gotten together and it always ended the same way.

“Course it does!”

Now it was my time to smile.

“Are you ashamed of me? Cause I’m sure as shit not ashamed of you and I’d like people to know that you the man that I love.”

“Don’t you think that I wouldn’t want that too?”

“Then what’s the big deal, Bitch?”

“Big deal is that I don’t want to lose my job.”

“Darlin’, I don’t think that’d happen.”

I knew that it scared him. Truthfully, if I was completely honest with myself, it scared me too but the love I had for that boy kept the fear at bay.

Knowing that when I got home from work, Clark would be there or at least he would get home from work eventually and we’d cook dinner together and enjoy some beers in front of the TV.

“You gotta admit that when I call you Darlin’, you get a little hot bothered, makes your dick twitch inside those boxer-briefs you look so fuckin’ fine in,” I said wrapping rubber bands around the stacks of tags that were done.

The blush was even darker then.

“Okay, I’ll stop with the affection but,” I said, leaning down next to his ear as I gathered up all my stuff. “One of these days you’re gonna marry me.”

I patted his cheek as I stepped past him.

~000o(8)o000~

Leave a Reply

