NanoWriMo Day 12

So, I haven’t posted a NanoWriMo blog in a few days and I am very disappointed in myself about that. I had a few goals this month and one was to post everyday. But real life got in the way with long work shifts and being almost too tired to write at all. Now, I will say, I did get my Nano writing done and I had to choose between that and blog posting and Nano writing was going to win hands down.

But as for my planning outline, I have pantsed in the past and this year I had a pretty good outline going for one of my short stories (i’m doing a short story collection this year) and I had thought that that one short story itself would be about 8 to 10 thousand words but right off the bat, the characters decided to take control, which isn’t bad in and of itself but my inner voice kept saying you’re not following your outline. Also, my characters kinda ended the story at about 4 thousand words instead of 8/10 as I had wanted.

So to get my groove back these two days, I am going to be working on changing my inner voice to be accepting of letting my characters completely lead my story, even if it thinks their leading the story into a wall or something.

I also need to create a loose outline for a few more of my short stories to at least not have a sinking/drowning feeling going on before I sit down to write.

I am still have a great time as I am writing everyday. Yesterday wasn’t as productive as I had wanted. I didn’t actually write anything short story related other than I did write down some prompts. I’m going to count that as my daily writing as it was only 24 words but I am focusing on writing everyday.

But I’ve rambled on long enough.

Happy Writing and HAPPY NANOING!!!!
Jeremy 🙂

One thought on “NanoWriMo Day 12

  1. NaNoWriMo is probably my favorite time of the year, but that doesn’t mean I don’t feel your frustration. Hitting snags is annoying; even though I’m a meticulous planner, my characters always manage to do something to mess with my outline. I actually failed the year I tried to be a pantser, so really, I’m impressed by anyone who can write 50,000 words without some kind of road map. I’m also impressed by your dedication to blogging during NaNoWriMo.

    Best of luck rounding out the month!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

